Chandrababu Naidu Takes Oath as Andhra Pradesh CM for Fourth Term

Telugu Desam Party (TDP) leader Nara Chandrababu Naidu took the oath as Andhra Pradesh’s chief minister for the fourth time. After the oath-taking, Naidu embraced PM Modi on stage.

Chandrababu Naidu
Chandrababu Naidu took oath as CM of Andhra Pradesh.

Nara Chandrababu Naidu, the leader of the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), took the oath as Andhra Pradesh’s chief minister for the fourth time on Wednesday, June 12. The ceremony, held near Gannavaram Airport in Kesarapalli on Vijayawada’s outskirts, saw Andhra governor S Abdul Nazeer and former Telangana governor Tamilisai Soundararajan in attendance.

The event was graced by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union home minister Amit Shah, Union ministers JP Nadda and Bandi Sanjay Kumar, among other prominent figures. Naidu was sworn in at 11:27 AM alongside Janasena chief Pawan Kalyan, Naidu’s son Nara Lokesh, and 22 others.

Also Read:- Terrorist Attack in Reasi: 10 Pilgrims Killed, 33 Injured as Bus Plunges into Gorge

Pawan Kalyan has been reportedly offered the deputy chief minister position, with Janasena receiving three cabinet posts and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) securing one.

After the oath-taking, Naidu embraced PM Modi on stage. This marks Naidu’s second tenure as chief minister since the state’s bifurcation in 2014. The ceremony also saw notable attendees like Union minister Rammohan Naidu, actors Chiranjeevi, Rajnikanth, and Nandamuri Balakrishna.

The TDP, allied with BJP and Janasena under the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), achieved a resounding victory in both state assembly and parliamentary elections. The TDP dominates the 175-member assembly with 135 seats, while Janasena holds 21 and BJP eight. The opposition YSR Congress Party has 11 seats.

TDP MLAs who took the oath included Nara Lokesh, Kinjarapu Atchannaidu, Nimmala Ramanaidu, Payyavula Kesav, NMD Farooq, Anam Ramanarayana Reddy, Kollu Ravindra, Ponguru Narayana, Vangalapudi Anita, Anagani Satya Prasad, Gottipati Ravi, Kolusu Parthasaradhi, Kola Balaveeranjaneya Swamy, Gummadi Sandhyarani, TG Bharath, BC Janardhan Reddy, S Savitha, Vasamsetty Subhash, Kondapalli Srinivas, and Mandipalli Ramprasad Reddy.

Also Read:- Kangana Ranaut slapped by CISF personnel at Chandigarh airport

The Andhra Pradesh cabinet can have 26 ministers, including the chief minister. Naidu was unanimously chosen as leader by the Telugu Desam Legislature Party and NDA partners on June 11.

Naidu, addressing his legislators, reiterated his commitment to developing Amaravati as the state’s sole capital and thanked them for their support. He emphasized his request for cooperation from the Union government, which was assured.

The swearing-in ceremony also featured South Indian superstars Rajinikanth, Chiranjeevi, and Nandamuri Balakrishna at the Gannavaram Mandal, Kesarapalli IT Park venue.

Chandrababu Naidu‘s political journey began in 1995 when he first became chief minister, serving united Andhra Pradesh until 2004, and then leading bifurcated Andhra Pradesh from 2014 to 2019. After losing the 2019 elections, he served as opposition leader until his recent electoral victory in 2024, which brought him back as chief minister, defeating the YSRCP.

Also Read:- Ramoji Rao, Founder of Ramoji Film City and Head of ETV Network, Passes Away at 87

The NDA’s recent landslide victory in the combined Lok Sabha and state assembly elections resulted in 164 out of 175 assembly seats and 21 out of 25 Lok Sabha seats.

Leave a Comment